Deleting resources

There are two ways to delete resources within ResourceSpace:

Delete individually
  1. Click to open the resource you wish to delete
  2. Under Resource tools, click Delete
  3. Depending on your setup, you may then need to:
    • Confirm your deletion via a pop-up window confirmation
    • Enter your password to confirm deletion
    11-resource-tools-delete
Batch delete
  • To delete multiple resources using a collection:
    1. Add the resources you wish to delete to a collection. See Adding to collection
    2. From the 'Actions' drop down in your collection bar, select "Delete all resources". This will delete the resources but not the collection.
    3. You can review all deleted resources via the 'Workflow' tab in the 'Browse' bar on the left - just click 'Deleted'. Otherwise you can run an advanced search and select 'Deleted' in the 'Status' section to specifically search the deleted state.
    4. To delete resources permanently, see Deleted resources

  • To delete multiple resources by changing the resource status:
    1. From a set of search results you can select resources individually by clicking the checkbox, or select a batch by checking the first one, holding down the Shift button, and then checking the last one.
    2. Click 'Edit selected'
    3. From the edit page, scroll down to 'Status and relationships' and click on 'Status'
    4. Choose 'Deleted' from the dropdown, and click 'Save'.

You can use the same process for resources in a collection by expanding the 'Actions' drop down and selecting 'Edit all resources'.

  • To delete multiple resources by checkbox selection in the search results:
    1.  From a set of search results, select resources individually by clicking the checkbox, or select a batch by checking the first one, holding down the Shift button, and then checking the last one
    2.  From the main Actions drop down, choose 'Delete selected resources'. You'll be prompted to confirm before the resources are deleted.

Deleting resources in these ways will move them to the Deleted workflow state. To delete permanently, you can use the same steps on resources that are already in this state.

Note: this requires edit access to all of the selected resources. If one or more selected resources cannot be edited, a message will advise that the deletion can't be completed.